buy:design | Fieldnotes vs. Moleskine

If it’s Friday, it’s buy:design. We’re buying notebooks today.

I take my notebooks personally, and never met one I didn’t buy. Current favorite at home is a 3D Wonder Woman spiral job I picked up at Target. At work, I have an affinity for composition books (and if I am lucky enough to be traveling, with a label or card glued on the cover, just because).

I am a more recent convert to designer notebooks: Fieldnotes and Moleskine. Just can’t choose between them. And now both companies have figured out that they can sell their notebooks as lifestyle, and I’m even more confused.

Which notebook, which lifestyle?

Fieldnotes: A little bit retro, and doesn’t take itself too seriously. Tagline: I am not writing it down so I will remember later, I am writing it down so I will remember it now.

hero-1

As an extra incentive (because new paper and a perfect pencil isn’t enough for some), they offer a Vintage Memo Book Archive. I am a little relieved to know some one out there thinks this is as cool as I do.

simondsarmourfertbook

Speaking of cool, Moleskine is standing by to help me become legendary. That’s their tagline, Legendary Notebooks. Their archive includes Pablo Picasso and Gertrude Stein, and they’ve got an exhibition in Berlin and Paris. Yes, they do take themselves a little too seriously. But…they are so beautiful and they feel so good.

all-notebooksvolant

So, while I am still conflicted, my handwriting looks really, really good in the Moleskine. But come this summer, I am going casual, and will swap for the Fieldnotes.

Happy Weekend.

1 Response to “buy:design | Fieldnotes vs. Moleskine”


  1. 1 alix April 10, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Recently someone was reading to me from a site called what white people like. It mentioned these notebooks. I immediately pictured this brand, and there was a picture to confirm. You may want to check it out.


Leave a Reply

