6 Responses to “Chapter 5 | How low can you go? My search for a cheap logo, great pizza and world peace.”


  1. 1 Leighton Hubbell May 15, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Very interesting series. You seem to have run the gamut of business models that have surfaced recently. Nicely done.

    Thanks very much for including me in the article links.

  2. 2 sean farrell May 15, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    hahah i like the mushroom nose too. great article.

  3. 3 James Kurtz III May 15, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Great job. I very much enjoyed reading each article this week. I think you nailed it when you said, “Design isn’t honored or valued, it’s just checked off.”

  4. 4 mikerdzign May 16, 2009 at 5:13 am

    Wow, you went deep and possibly endangered yourself, or at least your creative pride, all to expose these ruthless companies. Hats off to you, thanks for going the extra mile! Awesome blog.

  5. 5 Penny Hill May 18, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I went to the CrowdSPRING Website to see how the designers did on other, more conservative businesses and found a lot of cookie-cutter, uninspired design. But as I was browsing, one design for a PR agency caught my attention. I checked out the guy’s stuff, and he had designed a logo for another PR agency, too. I don’t think he was the winner of either competition, but I truly liked what he did. For one, he did what I thought would be logical for the name of the business. And to my frustration, I see no way to contact that designer directly (to offer feedback or even get him to do a logo for me!) Bummer!

  6. 6 Dave May 20, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    I love this series. Very creatively written, engaging, and insightful. I find that clients too often are willing to short change the design process especially during the startup phase, often with the excuse that “we can always can back and change it.” The best defense of this I have found is to insist they do the upfront research and answer the hard questions so the standard for evaluating work is as high as possible. Sometimes this works….


Leave a Reply

