buy:design | 500 Colored Pencils

If you’re looking for the gift that keeps on giving (and I don’t mean the fruitcake of the month club) check out 500 Colored Pencils from Social Designer. Twenty five pencils delivered each month, for twenty months to the lucky-soon-to-be-inspired-and-never-again-lacking-for-color-in-their-life recipient.

pencils12

Designed by Felissimo, the subscription is $33 each month (don’t do the x20 math, it’s better that way). I’m sold based on the names of the colors alone. Who wouldn’t be swayed by Lettuce, Mermaid’s Gown, Drizzly Afternoon, Lobster Bisque, Tragedy, Norwegian Sky,  Vedure, Grandma’s Ring, and Frog Pond? (And Grandma’s Ring really is the same purple as my Grandma Jessie’s ring. How’d they know?)

aurora_2aurora_4color_wave_1

I love this idea. And the packaging. And the displays. Steve has always had a healthy collection of colored pencils (although his are in tin cups, rather than cool acrylic art piece displays) both at home at at the studio, so I can’t get it for him. Kate will be moving around in Canada next year, so she’s out.

Gosh, know of anyone who could use a monthly dose of inspiration? Because this is so much better than fruitcake.

4 Responses to “buy:design | 500 Colored Pencils”


  1. 1 Ann November 6, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Oh I love the collection that is mounted between acrylic on the wall. Can see that on my office wall. Thanks for the cool post.

  2. 2 LisaF November 6, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Oh my goodness–I love the displays! I would mount them on the wall and never want to use them. 🙂

  3. 3 Suzette November 8, 2009 at 12:40 am

    San Jose Museum of Art (where I’m a volunteer docent) just commissioned a cotton and Plexiglas piece by artist Bari Kumar, and the structure of it is so reminiscent of the pencil display in the third photo. I should’ve known you guys were up to lots of creative things… my first look at your blog and I’m impressed. Anyway, I’m staring at my motley pencil cup, waiting for inspiration!

  4. 4 Suzanne : : S.HOPtalk December 3, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    Fabulous find! So nice to meet a “local” through blogging. Love your blog.


Leave a Reply

